MOBILE, Ala. – The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) has awarded two of its prestigious President’s Awards to the Alabama State Port Authority’s Terminal Railway – Alabama State Docks (TASD). The award was presented at the association’s annual regional meeting to recognize outstanding achievements in safety within the short line railroad industry. James K. Lyons, director and chief executive officer of the Port Authority commended the railroad’s personnel noting, “Receipt of the President’s Award reflects the hard work and the safety culture prevalent within the Terminal Railway. Our railroad’s management’s and employees are commended for this achievement amongst their peers.” 
The ASLRRA President’s Award recognizes either a railroad’s 0.0 accident frequency rate (zero accidents) achievement or the best safety rate as measured by the lowest accident frequency rate per man-hour below the national average. The Terminal Railway (TASD) achieved both benchmarks earning the authority’s short line two President’s Awards for Most Hours of Injury-Free Operation (zero accidents in a calendar year) and Best Safety Rate for 150,000 – 250,000 Man Hours worked in Calendar Year 2016.

The Alabama State Port Authority’s Terminal Railway – Alabama State Docks (TASD) received the prestigious 2016 President’s Award from the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association during the association’s regional meeting held September 26, 2017, in Charleston, SC.  Pictured L-R:  Jimmy Lyons, director and chief executive officer of the Alabama State Port Authority; Mike Russell, general manager (retired), Terminal Railway (TASD); Cliff Melton, general manager, Terminal Railway (TASD); and Horace Horn, chairman of the board, Alabama State Port Authority.

“To be awarded two President’s Awards speaks to the safety culture developed and embraced by every member of the Terminal Railway,” said Cliff Melton, general manager of the Terminal Railway (TASD). “I am extremely proud of the prevailing good attitude found everywhere on our system and the hard work our people put forth every day.”
To qualify for the ASLRRA President’s Award, a short line must have earned the Jake Award. The Jake Award recognizes outstanding safety achievements in the short line railroad industry and is presented to the ASLRRA member railroad that performs better than the Class II or Class III industry average injury frequency rate as reported by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) in the prior year. The Terminal Railway TASD has earned five Jake Awards since 2007.  The Terminal Railway’s (TASD) 2016 Jake Award was earned with Distinction as the railroad had both zero reportable injuries and zero reportable rail accidents.
The Alabama State Port Authority owns and/or operates the public deep-water port facilities at the Port of Mobile handling over 25 million tons annually.  In Calendar Year 2016, the Terminal Railway TASD handled 137,623 revenue rail cars through its interchange.  The Port Authority’s Terminal Railway is the largest port authority owned and operated railroad in the nation with immediate access to five Class 1 railroads and two short line railroads.  Learn more at